What is respect?

Well, I am always late for everything, I mean not an hour but at least a couple of minutes and that has sometimes surely put me through hell. So a few days back I was to go for a movie and surprisingly I was not late, rather I was a full five minutes early.

Just when I seated myself in the rather uncomfortable chair the national anthem played. Most of the people near me fell silent and paid their respect, some stood up, some even saluted, and I remained seated. I don’t know why I just couldn’t stand.

Back when we were in my school days we had to stand up whenever we heard the national anthem anywhere, but now that I think we did it out of fear of our teachers rather than out of respect.

It is not that I do not respect my country or my patriots, I do hold them in high regard. Such is their sacrifice that I couldn’t even think of myself doing anything of that sort but that day I just couldn’t stand. I know I should have shown my respect.

So coming back to the movie, when the national anthem ended everyone sat down but there were few men on the lower seats that started whistling and hooting instead of singing “jay hai”. There were no advertisements on the screen, no trailers, no teasers, no women showing off at what these mean usually scream and hoot.

It was insulting. I know I didn’t show much respect but these men certainly do not respect the country! I don’t understand what is more important, standing and saluting or at least not misbehaving!

Or am I wrong at my interpretation?

32 thoughts on “What is respect?

  1. I think I understand how you felt. It’s just how men of our country act like in certain situations. But many are different and I respect them for being the change or the good. Hooting and whistling is unnecessary but still done. India needs strict rules nothing else.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Sometimes you need to go through some things to emerge as an even beautiful person. 🙂 It’s a blessing, let it be. Gone is gone. Now enjoy what you have and what you can have. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. very true some people are very desrespecting national Anthem by hooting or anything of the sort.
    Some Indians have no love for their country. God bless all
    regards
    read my blogs very interesting and thoughtful. Brijkauldiary.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. here in the usa, we dont play the national anthem at movies. we do play it at the start of sporting events and people usually do stand and may place their right hand over their heart (a citizen salute) and mostly are quiet. when i traveled to other countries in asia, i noticed during movies the countries national anthem would be played before the start of the movie. i noticed most, if not all would sit quietly and rarely did i see someone stand. at the end of the anthem, some would cheer and at the end of our anthems played at sporting events there is usually cheering. im not sure if it is so much for the anthem as much as it is now the time for the sporting event to start. lol
    you make a good point in this posting. good post

    Liked by 2 people

  4. If they where standing to show how much respect they have got for the country, then their very next act shows what’s wrong with people in this country. Hooting for no reason doesn’t count as something acceptable in such situations. Good that you mentioned.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. “It was insulting. I know I didn’t show much respect but these men certainly do not respect the country! I don’t understand what is more important, standing and saluting or at least not misbehaving!” – You are absolutely right in your conclusions.

    I love the way you write 🙂 I am glad to have come across your blog ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Your perception holds importance for me.

