The pending drink

In the process of running away from myself which ostensibly wasn’t possible at all, I found myself. I found the girl who used to smile off any troubles that crossed the threshold of her way, who was audacious no matter what, who had fabricated her own way and had to tread on that path.

*

I was sitting on the bed of my friend’s room which as usual was unmade and stuffed with all kinds of things from cookies to a phone charger and from a bottle of water to clothes and any unwanted accessories. My phone had hooked me up just when my friend barged in with the news of her friends coming over. The usual me was uncomfortable in front of these new people and was trying to keep myself busy over the uninteresting Whatsapp conversations.

It wasn’t until then that I realised that one of her friend was kind of cute (well, too cute for that matter ;-)) having the smile that most men usually do not have and a voice that can literally sway you around and I couldn’t help smiling at him. But then that’s all a dumb person like me could do and in no time I was hearing ‘bu bye’s’.

Well, for the next two days I kept listening about him from my blabbering friend and he probably would have heard about me but the promised coffee remained un-drunk. So sometimes it’s just the way it is, isn’t it? I didn’t get to know him much but my friends mouth wasn’t exhausted once from fawning him and I think I can safely say he is a pleasant man who surely deserves a lot more than he thinks fit for himself. Well, an intelligent brain with the combination of his charm isn’t only sporadic but surely deserves a rising star.

It is in his story that I realised that everyone has his own ‘story’ own set of problems and if there isn’t any apt solution for it, let things just flow their way. If a star has fallen from the sky it ought to reach somewhere.

So here’s to the pending coffee that was to be served but remained un-   poured. Let’s just assume that they ran out of cappuccino and we out of time. But the cup of coffee isn’t going anywhere, or is it?

For: A friend of a dear friend.

9 thoughts on “The pending drink

  1. The drink remained pending perhaps because no one invited the other.

    Look at me, smiling at beautiful people and being called creepy for the very reason, hence ending up having coffee all my own.

    Yes, we do have our own set of stories and past, but the future is yet to be written. Let the ink be refilled, the cappuccino machine refilled and there is a today, before a tomorrow.

    Am I making any sense?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That was me trying to be philosophical and all. Glad that it worked. 😛

        My pleasure.
        For the past 5 years, I am being content with having the coffee alone, everyday, at the same (sometimes different) coffee shop. The guy there makes this love foam on the coffee mocking me – “Sir, still single? Iska kuch karo?”.
        Anyhow, I would be the coffee shop, if you want to break the solo coffee trips. 😛 Just saying.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. HA HA HA
        Even I have people telling me “I mean seriously, give it a try” and I’d be like no I’d rather have my dinner alone that to have been stood up.
        By the way nice try but I am still content with my solo coffee trips but without the love foams. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well, I tried.
        And I am backing them on this, why not give it a try, though you say you like the solo dinner more, but still.

        I wasn’t asking you out on a date. -_- (I don’t do dates).
        It could be a friendly-non-verbal-coffee-sipping-contest as well. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Your perception holds importance for me.

