Another social gathering

I think I am having too many social gathering these days. Anyways, I was there sitting among-st my peeps, all dressed up and engrossed in what was going on around. Well, it was a ‘jagran’ (where you are awake all night and sing spiritual songs/bhajan).

I for a fact like these occasions, it is an absolute change from all of your arduousness. So there I was sitting beside my cousin almost singing to the rhythms when something caught my attention. And how I perceive is something like this.

Haven’t the present generation heard a lot about being anti-socializing in the form of socializing and even about being too much on their phones and over the net? But there are exceptions. So this might not be wrong. It’s true that we are drifting away from socializing in the form of socializing but the reality also has it other side. In my gathering there were very few people from present generation and anyways this is not about them. What I saw was that the older and the dear ones were busy engrossed on their cell-phones. Though some of them were obviously wholly-devoted but some of them were more interested in ‘sharing’ what they were seeing. I saw people over whatsapp chatting, someone sharing a video to the other who could not be present, snapchat was also to be seen, oh and yes I literally saw a check in for this too on my feed post. So is it only the present generation that is all caught up in ‘seizing the moment?’

It is good to capture something but what about also trying to at least live the moment too. We all click pictures and take videos but what about staying in the present too?

They say that the present generation is not that ‘religious’, I say “may be not” but what about pretending to be too religious and being present physically while the mind wanders to a distant land where some altogether another dream is coming true. For me nothing is wrong in that too but then why criticize when someone else does it and try make it right for yourself.

Anyways it was fun for a change to see the reverse.

 

127 thoughts on “Another social gathering

  1. Last week during my grandma’s wake, a lot of the older people there was asking me to put in the wifi password in their phones so they can access facebook, whatapp, etc. It certainly is a mix of ages now isn’t it? Everyone is so in tune with their technology that sometimes it comes off as sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Without naming any names (to protect this individual) she was a keen, may I say overly keen, photo snapper. When at an event, there she could be seen taking images of everything and everyone (to be shared on social media). Over the past year she has not been ‘snapping’ as many images and is actually enjoying being present and enjoying the moment. She now remarks that she spent much of her life recording every moment, but without the ability to just be in the moment. She is now looking at others doing similarly, and has compassion for their lack of inner peace.
    There are times, I believe, for all things, including the wonderful technology available to us; I use it to suit me, too. However, when it becomes the main focus of life; it certainly appears a tad sad.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, thank you so much.
      The technology is good but it just becomes too sad when you are completely dependent on it rather than enjoying in the moment. Your friend has found her way of enjoying cause she may ‘record’ now but she might not be ‘only recording’

      Liked by 1 person

Your perception holds importance for me.

