Dressed up!

We had a cultural function at our house; all excited I got dressed up in full Indian traditional dress with big glamorous jumka (Earrings) with an added clutch to accessorize. Walking from the parking lot to the venue I realised how awkward and weird it was to for a woman to get all dressed up. I mean a man doesn’t look weird any day. He wears a suit, a shirt and trousers and that’s it. He goes to party like that, to social functions and even at any cultural function. It is all the same for him.

But when a woman has to go to a cultural function in India, she wears a saree, lehnga, salwar and looks uniquely different. When she goes to a party she is in a dress or a gown and yet appears beautifully different. I have accustomed myself to wearing western dresses so much that wearing Indian attire seems a task. I love them but when I am in them it is like I am not the usual me and in them it is not fit to go to a restaurant or a regular place. It may be fit for someone else but I get uncomfortable.

I am not against western or eastern dresses, I love them all the same but it is a level of comfort which varies with the place. It all came to me while crossing the road from my car to the venue in a lehnga (A long embroidered skirt with a crop top) when roadside people were literally giving the glares.

 

 

53 thoughts on “Dressed up!”

      1. Ha ha ha!πŸ˜„ I’m an idiot! I read thru my cell phone email and I get frustrated as it won’t show photos but only text sometimes so yea I saw when I just refreshed and went directly to your site! One day I’ll master all this 😩 its beautiful πŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh thank you dear
        I know the difficulties too. I am no master at all of this too. I spend so much time sometimes figuring things online and then realise that it was all so easy and all this while I would have been cursing the internet or the slow speed. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Coming from the Western World I simply adore all Indian dress; they are generally quite stunning.
    I also love the more simple Eastern style of dress. It’s wonderful that you have the choice. In Australia, where I live, I would definitely be ‘out of place’ wearing eastern dress; though I have at times! I have bought a few saris over the years, and recently bought from an Indian dress website.
    A rather recent style in some of the more individual dress shops is colourful, light and eastern flavoured styles; generally over blouse, long and filmy. I have a few now in my wardrobe. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I can understand. If you wear such dresses in Australia you’d certainly be out of place. Sometimes even in India it seems out of place nowadays, but I do like them.
      And yes these days even the traditional attire has a hint of the western style and it has its own unique style.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The last line… carpe diemβ™₯β™₯
    It connects… it really does…I mean it strikes that yes something unusual happened maybe a little thing but still it just strikes and you decide to part that moment with other bloggers..!!

    Liked by 1 person

Your perception holds importance for me.

