And that’s how… #1

It was a day crammed with work, with lots of packing to do, and even more work jammed into an already hectic day. That was the last day at my home; I was leaving for an uncertain trip. Exhausted by the night I crept into my bed. I was so tired and exhausted that my eyes wouldn’t even want to remain open. I wanted to sleep and yet sleep was not my friend that day.

So began the restless night, a fitful sleep. I was awake almost the entire night, and slept fitfully in bits and pieces.

The little time that I slept awarded me with dreams that were unwanted. I saw that my brother was showing a horror movie to me. I was constantly cribbing about it and was asking to shut it down, my brother forcefully shut it down and yet I could see the movie. I could see the horror movie!

And then finally came reality, my mom, asking me to wake up, telling me that my alarm had already gone off, and that if I didn’t’ wake up, I’d miss my train.

And that’s how I started my journey, my trip this year.

My train left my city.

I had to catch a flight then which got delayed. As soon as I could board the plane, I made myself comfortable and then I had dozed off, I had no idea when my journey started and when we landed, I was so exhausted.

The day was just as exhausting as was preparing for that instant trip. It had pretty much nothing exciting, except for one incident which I didn’t like. People really make such impressions on me. I was waiting at the railway station for a cab in the prepaid line, there was one person in front of me and there was no cab for a while. The sun was scorching and the people behind me suddenly started screaming at the man in front of me, asking him to move forward, so that they could have the shade too. I completely understand that the heat was unbearable, because even I was standing there a while before but none of us were shouting at people. I mean what was he to do? The line had to start form there and he had no hand in making the heat unbearable. It was just insensitive. I could never explain the situation, but all I can say now is, that I guess they were all wrong to holler at a poor man, who had just gotten into the shade, with 2 big bags desperately waiting for a cab.

So that’s how my first day of trip went off. With delayed trains, and flights I had no time to even have food, which made me eat like a starving person at the end of the day. But I guess all’s well that ends well. The hotel that I was staying in was kind enough to send me a pick up car, and give me complementary dinner and breakfast, so that I needn’t worry about eating outside.

I think, kind people do exist after all.

 

18 thoughts on “And that’s how… #1

    1. I guess, there are all kinds of people, it’s just that we never know whom we meet and how circumstances affect us.
      And to know where I am off to, O guess you’ll have to wait a little more. I am planning to sum up my travel stories in this series. Hope you enjoy.
      Much love

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What’s going on! What an incredible post. But where are going? Where are you now? This post was a great read–like a short story–except that it wasn’t fiction! I think things will definitely get better. Can’t wait for the next post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ah!! So I came to wp after a long time to see you’ve written a series!!
    That’s interesting!!
    Doesn’t look like a fiction!!

    Travel stories have always stirred me up!!

    Going to read the second part!!

    Liked by 1 person

Your perception holds importance for me.

