Sleepless night!

At 3 AM, I was still awake. I was kept awake, and it seemed sleep had no intention of befriending me that night. It was weird, I seldom have such sleepless nights and yet there I was staring at the ceiling of my room. I tried everything from reading to blinking my eyes continuously to try and get some sleep but the result being, still the overcrowded mind.

Twisting and turning to all the possible sleeping positions, I lost hope and sat upright. What was I to do? I had tired myself with everything and I really wanted to sleep. Sighing, I lied down again, and squished the extra pillow to my face.

After a while, the fan started to make some noise. Honestly, after 3 AM in the morning even my own footsteps would have scared me. I got up and switched off the fan. The weather was cool outside so I thought I could do without it. I was drifting off to sleep, I finally was but something kicked in to my mind, and just like that any possible chance of sleep went away.

I started to feel so warm suddenly I had to get up and switch on the air conditioner. I wouldn’t risk the fan again. But even the sound of the compressor was disturbing me now. I still left it on with a few hours timer, hoping with the cool air I would go off to sleep.

The last I saw the time was 4:30 and then suddenly I woke up with a start at 5:15. I was starting to feel cold. I put off the AC and then went off to sleep but the dear sleep de-friended me again just in few minutes time. At 5:40, I was wide awake again. I was feeling hot!

I risked the fan, and with a screech it went about giving me cool air, but I knew nothing could get me back to sleep, it was a lost hope. I opened the windows and the balcony door of my room, looking at the depressing sky, the sun was just about to come out but the clouds hided him well. The weather was cool outside, even drizzling a little bit, so I couldn’t even go out for a morning walk. And yet I felt warm and the need of fresh air. Fresh air? I was just breathing that, what else did I want? Silently, I returned to my room and slumped down on the bean bag.

To avoid boredom anymore, I put on some slow music on my phone. I had long lost hope for any proper sleep that night. I sat there, looking outside at the beautiful rain, slowly spreading across the morning making it duller and gloomy outside, hiding the faintest signs of sun.

At 6, I made myself a cup of coffee and sat there looking outside, rain water tricking down the tree leaves, falling onto the ground, creating a small puddle.

55 thoughts on “Sleepless night!”

    1. That’s the problem. I don’t like sleeping with my phone near by, I need some time away from the social media too. And seriously, I’d be happy to be sleepless rather than listening to your useless flirty-bollywood-copied lines.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Don’t insult my creativity..patent rights are with me..they have to pay me..but I have some tips..before going to sleep..drink glass of milk..then read a book ..if you still didn’t get a sleep…go to you tube..see some comedy videos..if still didn’t worked..well..I don’t know

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Urrr….I suffer from insomnia a lot so I can sure empathize with you! I hate having to wake up and go to work with only 1-3 hours of sleep urr! Hope you get better sleep tonight!! Reading books will sometimes help me and spraying lavender or burning a lavender candle – worth trying 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Elizabeth. I do realise this is so much painful.
      I, for a matter, am a dead sleeper, and can go to sleep in like five minutes time if I am tired, but some night., the exceptional ones I become restless, overthink which leads to such sleepless nights. I hate those. And this was one such, rather it has been now three consecutive nights.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow … Insomnia is something, isn’t it? Just yesterday I read a short story by Murakami called “Sleep”. It’s a New Yorker short so you can just google it and read online. I think you’ll really like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do not suffer from insomnia. I am a dead sleeper in fact, but sometimes I do suffer sleepless nights, when I am overthinking, or something is bothering me too much.
      Just one of those nights leading up to a post..
      Thanks a lot for stopping by and sparing some time here.

      Like

      1. I know. Few bloggers who visit each other almost evry day are being spammed! I hope it just gets solved soon, not many check the spam folder every now and then. I wouldn’t want to loose contact with my fellow bloggers.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes,sure .Till then do one thing .Just make post and tell the problem .Let your fellow bloggers must know that why they are not getting response .May be they have some solutions for it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve dealt with insomnia pretty badly ever since I gave birth to my daughter, so I can definitely relate to having nights like this. Sometimes you just have to give up and get up, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Your perception holds importance for me.

